Sports Betting Regulations

Since the Supreme Court gave states the green light to legalize sports betting back in 2018, individual states have begun regulating the industry as they see fit. Some have taken a cautious approach, while others have jumped headfirst into the market.

In the world of regulated sports wagering, there are different types of bets that players can make. One popular type is the futures bet, which is a wager on upcoming events, such as a championship outcome or player awards. These bets can be placed before a season starts and are usually subject to changing odds throughout the year.

Another popular bet is the parlay, which involves making multiple wagers on the same event. Hitting an “exacta” entails picking the first two finishers in exact order; a “quinella” picks the first two finishers in either order; and a “trifecta box” is three or more finishers in any order. A daily double, on the other hand, requires picking the winners of two consecutive races. A “pick six” is even more difficult to hit and can yield a huge payout.

While baseball games may be shortened or suspended because of weather, most moneyline bets will stand as long as the game goes at least five innings. Inning bets also stand as long as those full innings are completed; however, if a game is called in the seventh inning and you made an inning bet on the Royals to win -0.5 runs and they lose in that inning, your bet will be void.